AutoUsedEngines Auto Parts


Over 15 Million Engines and Transmissions

Autousedengines Used Engines , Transmissions

2017 Alfa Romeo Giulia Earns Top Safety Pick Plus Award

2017 Alfa Romeo Giulia

The 2017 Alfa Romeo Giulia already proved its mettle in terms of performance and handling, finishing second in 's 2017 Luxury Sports Sedan Challenge. Now it's proving itself as a formidable crashworthiness contender, earning a Top Safety Pick Plus award from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety - the agency's highest honor.

Related: For IIHS Safety Awards, Not All Cars Are Equal

Get 2018 Alfa Romeo Stelvio Details Find a 2018 Alfa Romeo Stelvio Near You

The Giulia received the requisite scores of good in all five IIHS crashworthiness tests, including small and moderate frontal overlap, side, roof strength, and head restraint and seat evaluations. The sedan also earned the highest possible superior rating in front crash prevention testing for its Forward Collision Warning Plus system with automatic emergency braking; an advanced or superior score on a scale that also includes ratings of none and basic at the low end is required for the Plus designation.

The sedan also earned a score of good for its headlights; acceptable or good scores are required out of poor, marginal, acceptable and good. Two of four headlight variations were tested for the Giulia, with those optional on Ti and Quadrifoglio trims earning the good rating, while the base headlights earned a poor score.

The Fiat Chrysler Automobiles-owned brand notes that the Top Safety Pick Plus award applies only to models manufactured after May 2017 and properly equipped.

The Giulia is competitive in crash tests among rivals. The 2017 BMW 3 Series is also a Top Safety Pick Plus but is edged out slightly by the Alfa due to the Bimmer's lower advanced and acceptable ratings for front crash prevention and headlights, respectively. The 2017 Mercedes-Benz C-Class is a Top Safety Pick but falls short of the Plus designation due to its poor headlights rating. And the Acura TLX failed to earn an IIHS award for either the 2017 or 2018 model year.